Day Seven

We finally did the Gary, Indiana shoot. It was one of my big worries because it involved all of the lead characters, was out of town, and was going to be strenuous. It was not easy getting everyone’s schedule in line. Lucky the actors were willing to reschedule work days to do it. Having shot there last summer (almost a year ago to the date) for the ‘Macbeth’ trailer I knew what to expect. When we did the original location scout for that and I saw the old post office I knew I had to rewrite a scene for ‘Distortion’ to take place there. There were still some of the props from the Macbeth trailer still there. Also a big pile of water bottles which were left by another crew that must have shot there as well. The place is pretty popular. I only hope I shot it in such a way that really took great advantage of the place.

With everything involved though I knew it was going to be a major thing. Scheduling people, travel, but also because there is no electricity in the place. When we shot there last summer we had a generator. I don’t have the money (nor the crew) for a generator. Luckily the place gets plenty of light even on overcast days. But it’s still something to consider. There is dialogue, action, suspense. A lot to do.

In retrospect now I should have allowed more time. I was trying to make it easier on the actors by having a later call time and tried for an early rap. I should have allowed another two hours at least into the schedule. Towards the end we were rushing and it took its toll. Although outside of one bit that I am certain I can cheat on a pick up somewhere else I think we got everything needed. I’m doing a rough cut and I haven’t come across anything yet where I feel like I didn’t get what I wanted. Although I haven’t gotten to the stuff we shot towards the end yet either. It does look good though.

I am testing different looks for the scene. I am big on color correction. Especially for this type of film. Out of the camera footage is too clean and too colorful. Some scenes just need to be desaturated while others needed a completely different look. The Gary stuff specifically. It may sound weird because looking at the pictures you may think to leave the place as is. But I went through a few options and found an interesting look for the whole scene. I’ll see if it holds or if it is too much for people. But I think it brings something extra to the scene.

Luckily no one was hurt. A few slips and slides (the place is filthy) but that was it. Although I do wish I allowed more time I am happy with how the day went and with what I’ve seen from what we’ve shot. I think the location also helps with the scope of the film. When you have no money a location can do wonders. A place like this is perfect.

Shon decided to leave a little memento that we were there. Maybe if I’m back there a year from now shooting something else I’ll see if it’s still there. Leaving our mark in Gary.

Leave a Reply

