Day Eleven

I know I overuse this angle but I love it too much.

I know I overuse this angle but I love it too much.

Day eleven was last Friday and it was a long day. With travel for myself it was about a 15 hour day and a draining one. I’m definitely getting older. It is taking me days to recover. I think from a physical and mental standpoint it was a little too draining. But, it’s all part of the process.

Friday was Mike’s last day so I needed to make sure all of his remaining scenes were shot. We also did the infamous Stuart scene which is basically the one scene that explains everything. It’s my version of the Gypsy woman explaning to Lon Chaney Jr. that he’s a werewolf type of scene. It was complicated in several ways. Not only did it need to be performed in such a way but it involved all of the lead characters. If the scene doesn’t work then the film in a way doesn’t work. If you get to the point in a movie where everything going on is more or less explained and it’s awkward then it can really affect the film in a bad way. Not only that but I need to cover it from several different ways because of everyone involved. I was a wreck behind closed doors but didn’t let anyone notice it. At least, I hope they didn’t. Luckily the scene went well and I will find out this week when I edit the scene how it turned out. But John Chase who played the role of Stuart did an amazing job so I feel I’m off to a good start.

John Chase getting ready to play the role of Stuart.

John Chase getting ready to play the role of Stuart.

Being Mike’s last day I wanted to make sure we got everything with him. I was drained when we got to his scenes. We shot all of the scenes at the old police station again. The lower level worked for the Stuart scene. Then upstairs we used an old holding room for the two scenes with Mike. I was actually able to light it with only one light which helped. The only problem was the echo. I hope it’s not too distracting as it was a room with a high ceiling. If it’s not one thing it’s six others.

Luckily Mike brought his A game as he always does and made it a lot easier for me. It was really great to work with him and see how well he brought that character to life. It is unfortunate that there aren’t anymore scenes with him.He brought so much to the film and is one of the reasons why I think the film will be higher in quality than other films made in this way.

There are two weeks left until I lose Brenden and Shon. The two are moving out to LA so no matter what I need to finish by the 24th. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t worried. I am extremely worried. There is about a third of the film left to shoot. Without it I don’t have a film. Most of what is left is centralized in a few locations which does help. I only hope everything comes together. I always try and be optimistic about things because I feel it does help keep your mind clear. The weekend of the 25th I will be attending the Music Box Massacre, a 24 hour horror movie marathon. That weekend I will either be celebrating with friends (and the likes of Clive Barker and filmmakers Joseph Zito and Lucky McKee) on finishing shooting my film or crying because I don’t have one. We’ll see what happens in the next three weeks.

One Response to “Day Eleven”

  1. Richard,
    Take Heart…it will all come together!
    If not, you could write another scene for Stuart…you may need to be a little more creative with re-introducing him back into the movie…but with your great writing ability, I’m certain you can do it!
    Best,
    JC

Leave a Reply

