Check The Clock

Editing has been going a little slower than expected. Mainly because it has been a long time since I edited a narrative. I have gotten so used to editing videos for work – training, promotional, etc., that I have forgotten how time consuming editing for dramatic purposes is. Such a different mentality. You look for different things. I’m loving every minute of it. My concern though is that I do want the first cut done by the end of the year. Or should I say, by the end of the month. I am also concerned about the running time.

I know I don’t have someone looking over my shoulder cracking a whip saying I need to get the edit done. Technically I could take five years to edit the film. But I really want to have a deadline. Otherwise it’s easy to let this go on and on. I also need to be disciplined. At some point I need to say the film is done. I can’t spend month after month tweaking this or that. It’s good to set deadlines. So I am still trying to get the first cut completed because the next stage is important. Once it’s done then I can see what is working and what isn’t. I can try and figure out what I need to change or do differently. I can also specifically determine what else I need to shoot.

The running time worries me. My original goal was 90 minutes. However, I am worried it’ll be less than that. 80 minutes is still ok but anything less than that is not good. At the same time I also don’t want it to be boring. I am cutting the film, even on this first cut, very tightly. Granted I won’t know the running time until I’m done but right now it does concern me. Unfortunately I can’t shoot additional scenes so I’ll cross that bridge if I need to.

I’m probably worrying too much right now considering I’m still editing but it’s my nature.

One other thing is the trailer for the Fangoria Weekend Of Horrors in March. I need to get it to them next month. If I don’t finish the first cut by the end of the month then I will have to start working on that trailer. I wanted to use that cut as a reference for the trailer so hopefully it all comes together.

Right now I am about a third of the way through. Although there are certain scenes that I had already edited so I just need to add them to the cut when I get there. Technically about half the film is edited but right now I am at a third of the way as far as going in order. I am noticing certain things. Mainly what I did wrong. It’s funny. Whenever I listen to a commentary track or an interview with a director and they talk about how all they can see are the mistakes it’s true. I see where my lighting was off or in the case of one shot I accidentally caught part of a light in the shot while moving the camera. It goes by quick so I don’t know how noticeable it is but I see it. Because we were running out of time I had to combine scenes in order to make sure I got all of the main stuff shot. In doing so I did make one story error. One I am trying to see if I can fix in editing. Since half my main cast has moved away I can’t reshoot anything or I will have to get a little creative. All part of the learning process?

There is so much more to go. A friend of mine asked me, after seeing the teaser trailer, “So, what now?” I almost exploded with everything left I have to do – editing, sound effects, music, visual effects, titles, posters, trailers, the website – and on and on. But they don’t know. I must admit I forget that a lot of people don’t know the process. It is a very long one. I’m still guessing that I will have a cut ready for people to see next fall. There will be things I will have to shoot which I can’t do until the spring at the earliest. The music alone will take a very long time to do along with the sound effects. The visual effects will also take a long time. I am sure the film will go through another two or three cuts. I’m guessing after the second cut it’ll be ready for friends to see it for feedback. That’ll be both odd and interesting. That’s why I am guessing it’ll be ready for festivals by next fall.

Hopefully the next post will be the one where I say the first cut is done. At least that’ll be one step further to being completed. That’s something to wish for this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

