A New Direction

A close up of my mighty keyboard.

Some of you may remember a previous post (located here) where I talked about the music for the film. I decided at the time to go with a more synthesizer based score. I love synth scores and I have many in my soundtrack collection from all kinds of very talented musicians (some of them I listed in that previous post). Slight problem. The movie did not sync too well to the synth.

Some of the suspenseful scenes worked well. Afterall, sometimes all you need is a simple bass like sound to get the creeps going. Unfortunately it ended there. It wasn’t working and I knew it. I just couldn’t go back to the more orchestral score using samples. It was very taxing on my system (leading to several program crashes) and if it sounds bad it sounds really bad. But when it sounds good it sounds really good. Also means the score was going to be harder as I could not take short cuts with an orchestral sounding score. The film though called for it. I did some tests a long time ago but this time I went back and did another test. It worked. It worked too well. One thing I am doing is forcing myself to keep it simple. Not just for the sake of my computer crashing but also because music not being my main talent I know the simpler I keep it the more likely I will remain within my range. One scene specifically I wrote to be slightly tragic. The synth score made it scary but I lost a little of the tragic. The strings I added made the scene tragic for me again and I was sold. The fact that my original emotional intent was there means while it may be a harder route to go (much like the road less traveled I mentioned in the last post) it is the one that my film requires. I have not come this far to let a key part of the film be inferior and therefore make the film as a whole suffer. Now granted as of this writing some of the harder music scenes I haven’t gotten to yet. I may write another post lamenting the fact that I made this decision. But I doubt it. If anything I love a good challenge. Especially a creative one.

The next round of festival deadlines is quickly approaching so I have no time to debate things. This is how I am going and it may kill me but it is worth it. Not to say I won’t use a little synth here and there. Afterall, I can’t deny using the waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

3 Responses to “A New Direction”

  1. Awesome, keep us updated on how this goes! 🙂

    And as a standing offer, if you ever need or think these would be useful, I have the following virtual instruments from these Quantum Leap packs at your disposal:

    http://www.soundsonline.com/Quantum-Leap-Ministry-Of-Rock-Virtual-Instrument-pr-EW-173.html

    http://www.soundsonline.com/Quantum-Leap-Goliath-Virtual-Instrument-pr-EW-176.html

  2. I’m a huge fan of film scores! I’m sure you’ve heard me speak of my never ending love for Danny Elfman’s music. And fortunately I play in an orchestra where we get to play several pieces of film music! So, I definitely find the choices of music to be really fascinating. And I think it is really cool that you do your own music; that’s pretty awesome! I’m really excited to see this movie, hopefully soon. You should definitely have a fancy screening party when it is all finished.

  3. Thanks you guys!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

