Done

The journey is over.

Here it is. The day has arrived where I can say that ‘Distortion’ is finished. At 12:38am on Sunday night (or Monday morning if you want to get technical) on March 21, 2010 I announced it. Granted there will still be final tweaks here and there. I’m sure once I see it in front of an audience things will jump out at me but that is all part of the process. As the saying goes films are not finished they’re abandoned. At some you point you just have to walk away from it otherwise you’ll spend your whole life working on it. Too many other stories to tell.

My 7 year journey has actually come to a close. Not sure how to feel about it. I think I’m still wound up in the technical stuff and the festival submissions. I’m sure it’ll hit me at some point. I actually made a video blog about it right when I finished. It’s on my Facebook profile. I was going to post it here but it is one long rambling bit. I was so tired that I went on and on. I even had one bit where I got a little emotional but caught myself. I thought back to my post Binary Sunset (which you can read here) about when I first saw ‘Star Wars’ and what it means to me. Kind of an odd moment where I saw myself almost through someone else’s eyes. I saw me at 4 years old being amazing by movies and how my life changed in one moment. All those years of dreaming to be a filmmaker. All those years of people telling me I can’t do it. All those years of finding the strength to keep going. Now it all came down to me making my first feature film. I saw that kid and wondered if he would be happy of who he grew up to be. I hope so. I don’t want to let that little boy down.

So what now? Is this over? Not by a long shot. The film itself might be done but now it’s time to start getting the film out there. Promoting it. Getting it into festivals. Much more to write about I assure you.

Also, there is the next film ‘Killer Talk’ which also has its own blog here. Just when you thought I was nuts the first time I’m going to go through it all over again. Only in a much shorter time span. What I did in years with ‘Distortion’ I plan to do in months with ‘Killer Talk’. Took a bit of a break while I finished ‘Distortion’ but I will be getting back to the script this week.

A new ‘Distortion’ trailer is almost done. I’m giving it the next day treatment. Meaning I liked it last night but wanted to sleep on it and see if I’m still happy about it this morning. There are some exciting things in the works including a piece over at Dread Central with the premiere of the new trailer and two possible interviews with the Horror Society which should be a lot of fun. All of those links will be posted here when they are online.

So this marks the end of one journey but another begins. What does the future have waiting? I have no idea. Not sure I’d want to know anyway. I have many more stories to tell and one way or another I need to tell them. The road is long but I made it this far. No turning back. Just taking a quick breather and enjoying the flowers off to the side. Deep breath. Continue walking.

3 Responses to “Done”

  1. Congratulations!

    Wow, 7 years is a long time to stick with a film and many people would’ve given up years ago. I think this is one of the things that really embodies the filmmaking spirit – finding ways to get it done, no matter what the cost or how long it takes, just get it done. I am sure you will have many, many lessons to take forward as you work on your next film and hopefully you will continue sharing them with us as you embark on your next journey.

    Best of luck with your festival entries, hopefully it’ll end up on the big screen somewhere we can see it, if not, we’ll wait for the DVD.

  2. Yay!!! Congratulations 😀 I’m really excited to see it and see it up on the big screen. Awesome job on this leg of the journey, and lots more to come!

  3. Yay!!! Like I said on your facebook….I am SO proud of you! Distortion is amazing, and I cannot wait for everyone to see it. You have worked extremely hard on this, and it is definitely going to show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

